top of page

DIY Movie Gift Basket

​Spring Craft: DIY Movie Gift Basket!

Hello everyone! Tomorrow is my little sister's birthday. She is turning 20 years old which means she is super old now! Each year I try my best to come up with a cool gift to give to my siblings. It can be difficult when you don't want to buy something material, but would rather find an experience for the two of you to enjoy together. With that said, I came up with this Movie Night basket which I thought would be a great basket to assist in a fun night that we could experience together. This is a great gift for a birthday, but also a fun basket for many other occasions, such as a thank you, something for Easter or even just to let someone know you'd like to spend time together! I hope you guys like it :)

List of Materials:

  • Large Basket (any color) - I bought mine at Target for $2.50

  • Shredded paper (any color) - I bought mine at Target for $1.50

  • Candy - I used Reese's Peanut Butter Cups and Sour Patch Kids

  • Popcorn - My favorite is the Skinny Pop White Cheddar [you can also use bags of unpopped microwave popcorn]

  • Bottle of Soda - I used the small tin bottle of Coca-Cola

  • Food Giftcard - We love eating pizza, so it made sense to grab a Domino's giftcard for us to enjoy during a movie night.

  • DVDs of their favorite movies - I chose a romantic theme and picked out Cinderella and Me Before You. I bought both at Target for $13 each.

  • Movie Night Ticket - Keep reading to see how I crafted this ticket!

Once you have all the items, putting this basket together is super easy! I first filled the basket with the shredded paper. Then, I just added the largest items toward the back of the basket and the smaller ones closer to the front. Just do whatever you think looks best!

Keep reading to see how I made the Movie Night ticket to complete this basket:

List of Materials:

  • Paper: Pale Yellow, Dark Yellow and Glitter

  • Ruler

  • Mini Star Paper Puncher

  • Paper Cutter

  • Straight Scissors

  • Crinkle Scissors

  • Pencil and Eraser

  • Thin Black Sharpie

  • Regular Black Sharpie

  • Glue Stick

Step One: The first step is to prep all the pieces. Start buy cutting out a rectangular piece of light yellow paper. Then, using the paper cutter cut out two thin strips of glitter paper. Lastly, punch out 12 stars from the dark gold paper. To finish with the light yellow paper, cut out half circles from each corner of the paper. Using the crinkle scissors cut along each side of the yellow paper to make it look like a ripped ticket.

Step Two: Now, you just need to put the pieces together. Start by gluing the glitter strips onto the top and bottom of the large ticket. Next, glue 6 stars below the top glitter line and above the bottom glitter line.

Step Three: To finish this ticket off, use a pencil to trace out what you'd like the ticket to say. In bold Sharpie I wrote "Movie Night" and then used the thin sharpie to add "This ticket is valid for one" Movie Night "With the family at home."

Add the finished ticket to your movie night basket to complete the gift!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and a very Happy Birthday to my little sister!

Lots of Love! <3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page