top of page

DIY American Flag

Summer Craft: American Flag!

Hello again everyone! I hope you guys are having a really awesome summer so far. I know that July is almost over but I have this really fun craft that I think you guys will enjoy. It is a super simple to make American Flag that you can use as decoration to really "Wow!" your guests at you Fourth of July Barbecues and parties.

Let's get started!

List of Materials:

A package of ruler (I used 9 rulers in total) *I was able to find these packages of 4 rulers at the 99 cent store

Plastic White Stars *I got this package of stars at Micheal's

Blue, Red and White Paint

Paint Brushes

Hot Glue Gun

Scissors

Twine

Step One (Make the base):

Set 2 rulers down on your table, number side down, and then stack 7 rulers across the 2 like a bridge. Once they are spaced evenly start hot gluing the rulers down onto the 2 acting as the base. *Make sure all your rulers have the numbers facing the same way.

Once I has seven glued down, I used scissors to cut the remaining bits of ruler from the base.

Step Two (Decorate):

To decorate, make sure your base is turned so the blank side is facing upwards. Then, start with the blue square section. I used a sponge paint brush with a straight edge so I didn't have any issues with making sure the blue ended in a straight line. I painted only four of the lines blue and about half way across the rulers.

Next, your going to do the alternating white and red lines.

Lastly, for decorating I hot glued on the white stars. I used a total of 8 stars and placed 2 on each ruler.

To finish this project off take a piece of twine (2 ft long) and tie each end to the holes in the top ruler. Now you can hang your American Flag where ever you want!

Have a great Fourth of July everyone. Enjoy crafting!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page